My Epic Experience

Hello Epic Fans!

This is Mallory, Leah’s assistant, I wanted to tell everyone about my wonderful experience I have had over the past year working for Leah. I wrote this out about a week ago, I am just now posting this.

I vaguely decided my freshman year of high school that I wanted to become a photographer. My mother had recently passed away from breast cancer that fall and I received a new camera that Christmas. I wanted to have my own camera to document my family so that we could always have pictures no matter what happens. I didn’t think that buying a relatively cheap little camera would impact me in such a huge way.

Now I am a senior in high school getting ready to graduate this spring. My experience at Epic has been completely life changing. When I started working for Leah last spring, I had no idea what I would be doing or how this would impact me. I was pretty confident in my shooting ability when I started working, but I was excited to see what happens behind the scenes in a successful studio. At the time, I had no idea how a photography studio was supposed to run or how much work actually goes into it.

Throughout the summer I learned what I was going to have to do when our other intern left for college in the fall. I was responsible for keeping consistent communication with clients, booking sessions, designing albums, second shooting with Leah at various sessions, and assisting with marketing techniques. Seeing Leah work hands on with her clients is something that I try to soak up. To be a photographer, you have to be a people person. There’s no doubt about that, communication is key; not only before the session and after, but during the session. She is able to make people feel so comfortable in front of the camera and that is something I aspire to be able to do one day.

I have changed in a few ways since I began working for Leah. I have become more outgoing and more willing to work with people. I used to hate talking on the phone with people, but now that is how I communicate with most of my family and friends. Talking to clients has brought me out of my comfort zone. Everything that I’ve been through up to this point has been so worth it, and this has been an experience that will stick with me for the rest of my life. Before I started working with Leah, I contemplated a lot on whether or not to actually apply for the internship. I had been admiring Leah’s work for several years and saw it as my opportunity to learn from the absolute best. There is no other photographer that I have ever seen that is as amazing as Leah. The work she does daily still amazes me.

I have built lifelong relationships with Leah and her family. Working with Leah means that you become a part of her family. Leah has quickly become one of my best friends that I can count on for anything and that is so rewarding. I am also thankful for the people she has introduced me to and the relationships that I’ve built with them.

Working with Leah has personally been extremely beneficial. Learning the back side of the photography business and shooting hands on with Leah has shaped me as a photographer. The relationships and life lessons that I have gained over the past year have significantly prepared me for what comes next in my future as a photographer. Anyone would be lucky to work with Leah and to build the same relationships that I have built. Leah is a wonderful teacher and mentor that anyone would be lucky to learn from. Leah is full of promise and many tremendous things will come from her work in the future.

Leave a comment